Welcome To The Chromatics Lesson

In this lesson we will learn about the chromatics. This will teach you about all the notes that are available on any normal instrument, as well as learning to identify them properly. There are twelve notes in any key, and these 12 notes are the chromatics.

chromatics - These are all twelve (12) of the notes in an octave.

A - A# - B - C - C# - D - D# - E - F - F# - G - G#

* After the G# would be the octave note where it all just starts over again with A.
** Also notice there is no sharp or flat note between the B and C notes or the E and F notes.

We would say that these are the chromatics in C.

C - C# - D - D# - E - F - F# - G - G# - A - A# - B

The Naturals And The Non-Naturals

There are two main groups of notes in any octave, the naturals and the non-naturals. The naturals are simply all the notes with normal letter names with no sharps or flats in their names. The non-naturals are the notes that have sharps or flats in their names.

Naturals - These are the notes with normal letter names. There are seven of them.

A - B - C - D - E - F - G

Non-Naturals - These are the notes with sharps or flats in their names. There are five of them.

A# - C# - D# - F# - G#

Together, the (7) naturals and (5) non-naturals make up the twelve chromatic notes. (7+5=12)


Sponsored Links

  • Shop Guitar Center
  • Free shipping at Booksamillion.com


If this site has helped you, then please take a minute and donate something. From now on anyone who makes a donation of $10 or more will be sent a free Adobe .pdf booklet that includes all of the guitar and bass lessons in the modal section in a format that is easy to print, view, and take with you on a mobile device, etc. Just use any one of the Paypal donation buttons on the site. I will check this daily and e-mail the booklet to the address you use for paypal.

  • Share Us!
  • share on facebook
  • share lessons on Twitter
  • delicious
  • stumble theory lessons
  • share on reddit
  • digg guitar lessons